Farrell Finishes Furlongs Ahead of The Field At Roxbury Charity Run

ROXBURY – Garred Farrell, a New Milford High School (NMHS) harrier who placed fourth in the South West Conference cross country championships last month, put another exclamation point on his resume by easily winning a 3.1mile jaunt that covered long hills and an extended dirt surface.

Farrell, a junior at NMHS, was clocked in 18-minutes, 1-second, on Thursday, November 22, in the second annual Roxbury Thanksgiving Day Charity Race, which raised \$560 for the Joseph Awlasewicz Scholarship for students seeking to study a trade in college. The award is sponsored through the Roxbury Scholarship Foundation.

Awlasewicz's mother, Luanne, attended the race, which started and finished near the Everett Hurlburt Community Park and assisted with recording bib numbers at the finish chute.

Two years ago the family published a children's book that was dedicated to Joseph, who was a student at the Booth Free Elementary School before he died in a June 2014 all-terrain vehicle accident

Julia Benivegna, 29, of Roxbury was second overall in the race and easily annexed the female title in 21:25. Her father is the treasurer of the Roxbury Scholarship Foundation.

Former Shepaug Valley High School-Washington and Gettysburg College runner Dave Harvey, who used to live in Bridgewater, was third overall in 21:43

The top three male and female finishers received awards designed by Harvey, who has made similar contributions through the years to the Roxbury Road Races Club series, which sponsors the Thanksgiving Day event. Steve Leslie of Brookfield garnered fourth placed in the field of 37 finishers with a clocking of 22:15.

The out-and-back course went up and down the hill on the dirt surface along Hemlock Road and also traveled up and down the hill on Rocky Mountain Road.

- 1. 18:01 Garred Farrell
- 2. 21:25 Julia Benivegna
- 3. 21:43 Dave Harvey
- 4. 22:15 Steve Leslie
- 5. 23:04 Malin Adams
- 6. 23:13 Brian Dwyer
- 7. 23:20 Kina McNamee
- 8. 23:37 Tara Larkin
- 9. 25:14 Rory McNamee
- 10. 25:39 Brian Larkin
- 11. 25:42 Will Hauser
- 12. 26:14 Josh Adams
- 13. 26:43 Drew Arifian
- 14. 27:26 Hans Barth
- 15. 27:37 Suzette Reading
- 16. 27:48 Lauren Contorno
- 17. 28:03 Irene Clarke
- 18. 29:01 Michael Crane
- 19. 29:25 Donna Nash
- 20. 29:26 Tonia LaBonia
- 21. 29:18 Deborah Olsen
- 22. 30:01 Ben Dwyer
- 23. 31:04 Matt Farrell
- 24. 31:30 Nancy Stolz
- 25. 31:31 Carol Zucca
- 26. 34:50 Lauren Smith
- 27. 35:41 Brooke Helburn

28. 37:47 Alyssa Dombroski

29. 37:48 Lee Anne Zarger

30. 46:38 Daniel Quinn

31. 46:47 Marion Quinn

32. 47:52 Charlie Euston

33. 51:37 Brittany Beldon

34. 51:53 Barbara Lem

35. 51:54 Robert Beldon

36. 53:17 Jay Lem

37. 53:17.3 Pete Gursky